Shrink results results were found for ""
Found in News/Features
Found in Blogs
Found in Forums
Found in Events
Found in Listings
Found in Users
Found in Groups
Found in images

Thalia Orchestra

Bookmark and Share

» Back

Category: Entertainment
Start date: 20 Jan 2019 03:00 PM
End date: 20 Jan 2019 05:00 PM
Street / Location: 2655 NW Market Street
City / town: Seattle
Country: Washington, USA
Organizer: Nordic Museum
Email: devonk@nordicmuseum.org
Phone: 206.789.5707
Homepage: http://nordicmuseum.org/events

Join Nordic Museum in welcoming the Thalia Symphony Orchestra for this special concert presentation!

Program: Overture to ‘Orpheus in the Underworld’ by Jacques Offenbach/Carl Bender
Comodo e amabile by Rebecca Clarke
Piece for Vibraphone and Electric Bass by Tom Collier and Dan Dean, soloists
Danzón No 2 by Arturo Márquez
Sinfonia Espansiva by Carl Nielsen (Symphony No. 3)

'Offenbach's delightful overture to "Orpheus in the Underworld' opens our 70th season in a festive mood. Ending with the famous "Can-Can", the piece is the perfect birthday celebration!

Rebecca Clarke was an Anglo-American composer and violist. As far as we know this is the first time her 'Comodo e amabile’ ('easy and pleasant') has been performed by a full orchestral string section.

We are thrilled to be presenting "Piece for Vibraphone and Electric Bass" by two Seattle jazz legends, Tom Collier and Dan Dean, who will also be featured as soloists in this performance. Rather than using the traditional format of a classical concerto, Collier and Dean structured the piece as a Third Stream composition featuring thoroughly composed orchestral parts interjected by virtuosic, jazzy bursts of composed and improvised vibraphone and electric bass lines. Dean’s angular, rhythmically complex opening and closing themes are effectively contrasted by Collier’s more melodic middle composed and improvised passages.

The charming and rhythmically intoxicating 'Danzon No. 2' by the contemporary Mexican composer Arturo Marquez has become a favorite of orchestras world-wide.

Carl Nielsen is considered the greatest Danish composer of his era. His 'Expansive Symphony' is a dramatic, colorful masterpiece. One unique aspect is that in one movement it features wordless vocal parts not as soloists, but as part of the orchestra itself. Our performance will feature vocal soloists Laura Loge, soprano and DJ Jordan, baritone.

More information about Thalia Symphony Orchestra here: http://www.thaliasymphony.org/about.html